Tietjens names Samoan squad for 1st leg of HSBC World Rugby 7s series

Tietjens names Samoan squad for 1st leg of HSBC World Rugby 7s series

By Dhanjay Deo
Sunday 01/12/2019
Sir Gordon Tietjens has named his squad for the first two legs of the HSBC World Rugby 7s 2019-2020 series. [Photo:NYTimes]

Sir Gordon Tietjens has named his Samoan squad for the first leg of the HSBC World Rugby 7s series.

Entering the final year of his 4-year contract with the Manu Samoa 7s, Tietjens is looking to improve on last year’s 56% win record.

The squad is essentially the same team that participated in the recent Olympic Qualifier in Suva.

Players such as Joe Perez, Belgium Tuatagaloa and Johnny Vaili have been named in the Samoan team.

Samoa is pooled with Canada, New Zealand and Wales for the Dubai 7’s.

Meanwhile, Fiji’s first pool match is against Japan at 4.02am on  Friday, Fiji will then take on Argentina at 10.04pm the same night and they will face France in their last match at 4.02am on Saturday.

The quarterfinals will be held at 8.14pm Saturday, the semifinals will be at 12am Sunday while the final will be at 4.02am Sunday.

Samoa 7s Squad for HSBC Series 2019/2020 Dubai-Capetown legs:

1. Alamanda Motuga

2. Tomasi Alosio

3. Losi Filipo

4. Belgium Tuatagaloa

5. Tofatuimoana Solia

6. Kerisimasi Savaiinaea

7. Joe Perez

8. Elisapeta Alofipo

9. Johnny Vaili

10. Paul Scanlan

11. Philip Luki

12. Laaloi Leilua

13. Tuna Tuitama

* 14. Paulo Toilolo replaced by Kelvin Masoe whose visa came through.


Stay tuned for the latest news on our radio stations

CFL radio frequencies
Budget Debate 2020 - 2021
Members of parliament will deliver their response to the 2020/2021 National Budget. 2020-2021 Budget ResourcesAddressEstimatesSupplementRevenue ...
11 days ago

National Budget 2020-2021
Full coverage of 2020-2021 National Budget including budget consultation from different sectors. Major changes announced in the 2020/2021 ...
23 days ago

SODELPA spectacle
With SODELPA going through changes and opposition within the party, we give you all the stories that covered these ...
35 days ago
CCTV cameras to be installed in Nausori Town to fight illegal drug trade and prostitution
CCTV cameras will soon be installed in locations around Nausori Town to help Police deal with growing concerns about the increasing number of criminal...
1 hour ago
Fiji nominates Ratu Inoke Kubuabola to be Secretary-General of the Pacific Islands Forum
Fiji’s seasoned diplomat and former Minister for Foreign Affairs, Ratu Inoke Kubuabola has been nominated as Fiji’s candidate for the position of ...
28 minutes ago

Niece to give evidence for the prosecution in the uncle’s rape trial
A 19-year-old woman will give evidence in her uncle’s rape trial which will begin next Wednesday. Suva High Court Judge Justice Salesi Temo was ...
1 hour ago

Donald Trump bans transactions with TikTok's Chinese owner
US President Donald Trump has issued an executive order banning any transactions with ByteDance, the Chinese company that owns the video-sharing app ...
2 hours ago

PNG suffers third COVID-19 death
One more person has died from COVID-19 in Papua New Guinea, bringing the total to three. Authorities said the latest victim is a 62-year-old man ...
2 hours ago

Unemployed Fijians turn up in numbers to sell their products at Open Market Day
Unemployed Fijians took advantage of Open Market Day 2020 today at Sukuna Park which was initiated to provide a platform to showcase and sell their ...
2 hours ago