20th August 06:39 AM
Cricket World Cup umpire admits error in final that gave England extra run
By Naveel Krishant
Monday 22/07/2019
Bowler Trent Boult goes back to his mark as umpire Kumar Dharmasena signals six runs off a Ben Stokes deflection (a boundary plus two runs) in the final moments of the Cricket World Cup 2019 Final between England and New Zealand at Lord's. [Source: Photos

The umpire who incorrectly awarded England an extra run in the last over of the Cricket World Cup final that led to a Super Over and ultimately the Black Caps' demise has admitted his mistake ‑ but he stands by it.

Kumar Dharmasena admitted in an interview with Sri Lanka's Sunday Times he incorrectly handed England six runs in the chaotic final over of the match.

He says there was a judgmental error when he sees it on TV replays now.

He says they did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and he will never regret the decision he made.

[Source:TV NZ]

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies