27 September, 2020, 6:00 pm Central - 25°C Rain

Two new MPs sworn into Parliament

Two new MPs sworn into Parliament

By Semi Turaga and Filipe Naikaso
Monday 11/05/2015
FijiFirst MP Jilila Kumar

Fiji First Party candidate, Jilila Nalibu Kumar and SODELPA candidate Mikaele Leawere were sworn in as new members of parliament today.

Jilila Nalibu Kumar replaces former Fiji First MP Neil Sharma while Mikaele Leawere is replacing the late SODELPA MP Viliame Tagivetaua.

While delivering her maiden speech, Jilila Nalibu Kumar says she is ready and will do her work in the best way possible for the betterment of all communities and our nation.

Kumar says she decided to run in the elections as a Fiji First candidate because she supports the education and infrastructure developments which the government is doing in rural communities.

She also says joined the FijiFirst because it stands for equality.

Jilila Nalibu Kumar is originally from Raiwaqa village in Nadroga and is a mother of three.

SODELPA MP Mikaele Leawere

Meanwhile SODELPA MP, Mikaele Leawere who is originally from Galoa in Serua was a Divisional Education Officer and Fijian Teachers Association’s Principal Administration Officer.

Leawere says as he will focus on workers’ rights and interests.

Stay tuned for the latest news on our radio stations

CFL radio frequencies
Pollution in Suva
Serious concerns raised as research shows microplastic in fish and other seafood sources in ...
4 days ago

RKS students stage protests against their principal
Akbar says they hope to resume classes at RKS on Monday but this will depend on the recommendations by the investigating ...
20 days ago

Fiji Airways In Depth
Fiji Airways extends the cancellation of scheduled international flights to September.Read the full coverage ...
33 days ago
More than 2,000 marijuana plants found in Kadavu this week
More than 2,000 marijuana plants were uprooted from three farms in Kadavu this week. The first raid was conducted at Lavidi Village where more than...
56 minutes ago
Rabuka and Prasad to start week-long Listening Tour tomorrow
Opposition Leader Sitiveni Rabuka and NFP Leader Professor Biman Prasad will begin a week-long Listening Tour of the Western Division tomorrow. A ...
28 minutes ago

We are already seeing a version of environmental armageddon - Bainimarama
Prime Minister Voreqe Bainimarama says Fiji stands ready to serve its community of nations in every way it can, by way of peacekeeping and way of ...
1 hour ago

751 reports of violence against women & children in the first 7 months - FWCC
The Fiji Women's Crisis Centre has received 751 reports of violence against women and children for the first seven months of this year. It says ...
6 hours ago

The Story Behind Uzo Aduba’s Inspiring Tribute to Breonna Taylor
The Emmy Awards are a celebration of televisions best and brightest, but 2020’s ceremony was marked by its focus on politics and social justice ...
7 hours ago

Police arrest 16-yr-old girl for allegedly breaching curfew
A 16-year-old girl is one of 18 people arrested from 11 o'clock last night to 4 o'clock this morning for allegedly breaching curfew restrictions. ...
8 hours ago