28 May, 2020, 1:03 am
Central - 21°C Clouds
28 May, 2020, 1:03 am Central - 21°C Clouds

Div Damodar will be the Chairman of the 2019 Miss Fiji Pageant Contest Organizing Committee

Div Damodar will be the Chairman of the 2019 Miss Fiji Pageant Contest Organizing Committee

By Vijay Narayan
Thursday 19/09/2019
CEO for Damodar Group of Companies Div Damodar

Businessman, Div Damodar will be the Chairman of the 2019 Miss Fiji Pageant Contest Organizing Committee.

Minister for Local Government, Premila Kumar says Damodar is the CEO for Damodar Group of Companies and is well acquainted with the entertainment industry with the passion and commitment to developing the Miss Fiji Pageant Contest into a major annual event on the Fiji calendar.

The Miss Fiji Pageant Contest 2019 will be held this year in Suva from 18th to 23rd November. The main venue for the contest will be the Suva Civic Auditorium with seventeen contesting Queens now confirmed.

The winning 2019 Miss Fiji shall be representing Fiji at the 2019 Miss South Pacific Island Pageant Contest.

The contesting Queens are representing the twelve cities and towns of Suva City, Lautoka City, Ba, Labasa, Levuka, Nadi, Nausori, Nasinu, Rakiraki, Savusavu, Sigatoka and Tavua. Six Municipal Councils have also confirmed that the winning Queens for 2018 will also take part during this year’s contest.

Kumar says the Miss Fiji Pageant will focus on the contestants and the week leading up to the crowning will ensure a quality and exciting program culminates in the final exciting pageant event, with the Crowning of Miss Fiji on the 23rd of November at the Suva Civic Auditorium.

Damodar will also be working with his Organizing Committee to manage the participation of the winning Queen at the Miss South Pacific Islands Pageant Contest at the end of the year.

A financial and activity report will be prepared by the Organizing Committee by 31st December 2019 and submitted for external audit.

Major announcements on the build‑up to the Miss Fiji Pageant Contest will be made in the coming weeks by the Chairman.


MH Moneygram
MH Online Shopping Banner

Stay tuned for the latest news on our radio stations

CFL radio frequencies
Fiji's approach to deal with effects of the COVID-19 Pandemic
As Fiji battles against the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic, many individuals and organisations have come forward to lend a helping ...
27 days ago

Severe Tropical Cyclone Harold
As Tropical Cyclone Harold hit Fiji mainly causing destruction to Kadavu and the Lau Group, we give you an indepth report on stories of the build up ...
46 days ago

COVID-19 Response Budget
Attorney General and the Minister for Economy, Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum presented the COVID-19 Supplementary Budget to parliament at 7.30 on Wednesday ...
61 days ago
There is no more presence of COVID-19 however we cannot afford second or third wave – Waqainabete
Minister for Health Dr. Ifereimi Waqainabete says their testing is telling them there is no more presence of COVID-19 in our communities however they ...
9 hours ago
Australia's post-coronavirus tourism restart released with first flight date revealed
Australians may be allowed to travel to NZ and the Pacific from July 1, and other countries deemed “safe” from September, according to a ...
6 hours ago

Change the taboo culture regarding menstrual hygiene – Vuniwaqa
Minister for Women, Children and Poverty Alleviation Mereseini Vuniwaqa says Fiji still has a taboo state of mind surrounding menstrual hygiene ...
7 hours ago

Two web platforms assisted govt to better plan during the lockdown period and TC Harold
The government developed two web platforms through the Geographic Information System (GIS) to better plan and mobilise resources during the COVID-19 ...
7 hours ago

AG says they want Australia and New Zealand to change the narrative on the travel bubble
Attorney General and Minister for Economy Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum says what they are trying to get Australia and New Zealand to do is to change the ...
8 hours ago

NZ government provides $3.25 million budget support to Fiji
The New Zealand government has fast-tracked a FJ$3.25 million budget support payment for advance release to the government of Fiji this week. This ...
9 hours ago