22nd November 05:57 AM
Yucatan to defy Melbourne Cup history
By Lena Reece
Sunday 04/11/2018
James McDonald rides Yucatan to win the Herbert Power Stakes at Caulfield on October 13 [Photo: ABC]

Yucatan will have to defy Melbourne Cup history and overcome a Flemington hoodoo after drawing barrier 23, triggering an immediate betting drift.

No horse has won from gate 23 since mudlark Van der Hum in 1976, although Heartbreak City came within a whisker of doing so two years ago when denied by Almandin.

Nick Williams realises his runner now faces a huge challenge.

Since barriers were introduced to the Cup in 1924, Rimfire in 1941, is the only other winner from 23.

But in a sign of just how dominant the 11 internationals in this year’s field are, eight of the first nine horses in betting are trained abroad.

Nick Williams, part‑owner of Yucatan, said the barrier is irrelevant.

The Melbourne Cup will begin next Tuesday at 5pm.

[Source: FOXSports]


Barrier 1: Auvray

Barrier 2: Vengeur Masque

Barrier 3: Nakeeta

Barrier 4: Chestnut Coat

Barrier 5: Red Cardinal

Barrier 6: Best Solution

Barrier 7: Ventura Storm

Barrier 8: Youngstar

Barrier 9: The Cliffsofmoher

Barrier 10: Marmelo

Barrier 11: Avilius

Barrier 12: Runaway

Barrier 13: Muntahaa

Barrier 14: Sir Charles Road

Barrier 15: Finche

Barrier 16: Sound Check

Barrier 17: Magic Circle

Barrier 18: Who Shot the Barman

Barrier 19: Cross Counter

Barrier 20: A Prince of Arran

Barrier 21: Rostropovich

Barrier 22: Ace High

Barrier 23: Yucatan

Barrier 24: Zacada

TFL X Plan Pacific Energy

Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies