16th July 02:04 PM
Walker-Leawere to start for Maori All Blacks against Flying Fijians
By Dhanjay Deo
Thursday 11/07/2019
Isaia Walker-Leawere who has links to Fiji will start for the Maori All Blacks against the Flying Fijians. Photo: All Blacks

Former Flying Fijians Captain, Kele Leawere’s son, Isaia Walker‑Leawere has been named in the Maori All Blacks starting 15 to face Fiji Airways Flying Fijians this Saturday.

Walker‑Leawere had a good Super Rugby season with the Hurricanes.

Top players such as Ash Dixon, Tyrel Lomax, Reed Prinsep, Akira Ioane, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Otere Black and Fletcher Smith will also start for the Maori All Blacks.

The Fiji 15s team will play Maori All Blacks at 3pm this Saturday at the ANZ Stadium and you can catch the live commentary on Viti FM.

The team is (with Province, Investec Super Rugby Club, and Iwi):

1: Ross Wright (Northland) - Ngati Whatua / Ngati Porou 2: Ash Dixon (Captain) Hawkes Bay/Highlanders - Ngati Tahinga 3: Tyrel Lomax (Tasman/Highlanders) - Ngai Tuhoe / Muaupoko 4: Isaia Walker-Leawere (Hawke’s Bay/Hurricanes) - Ngati Porou 5: Tom Franklin (Bay Of Plenty/Highlanders) - Ngati Maniapoto 6: Reed Prinsep (Canterbury/Hurricanes) - Te Rarawa 7: Mitch Karpik (Bay of Plenty/Chiefs) - Rongomaiwahine / Ngati Kahungunu 8: Akira Ioane (Auckland/Blues) - Ngapuhi / Te Whanau a Apanui 9: Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (Taranaki/Chiefs) - Ngati Pikiao 10: Otere Black (Manawatu/ Blues) - Ngai Tuhoe / Te Whanau a Apanui / Ngati Tuwharetoa 11: Sean Wainui (Taranaki/Chiefs) - Ngai Tuhoe / Te Aitanga a Mahaki / Nga Arikikaiputahi / Ngati Porou 12: Teihorangi Walden (Taranaki/Highlanders) Te Atiawa 13: Rob Thompson (Manawatu/Highlanders) - Ngati Kahungunu / Nga Rauru 14: Shaun Stevenson (North Harbour/Chiefs) - Ngapuhi 15: Fletcher Smith * (Waikato/Hurricanes) - Ngati Kahungunu

16: Nathan Harris * (Bay Of Plenty/Chiefs) - Ngati Hikairo / Waikato Tainui 17: Haereiti Hetet * (Waikato) - Ngati Maniapoto 18 Marcel Renata (Auckland/Blues) - Ngati Whanaunga / Ngai Takoto 19 Pari Pari Parkinson (Tasman/Highlanders) - Te Whanau a Apanui 20 Whetukamokamo Douglas (Canterbury/Crusaders) - Ngati Porou / Ngati Whakaue 21: Bryn Hall (North Harbour/Crusaders) - Ngati Ranginui 22 Alex Nankivell * (Tasman/Chiefs) - Ngapuhi 23 Jordan Hyland * (Northland) - Ngai Tahu

*denotes uncapped for Maori All Blacks

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies