15th November 11:48 PM
South Africa 7s team named for Rugby World Cup 7s
By Rusiate Baleilevuka
Thursday 12/07/2018
Justin Geduld in action for the Blitzboks

Blitzboks Sevens coach Neil Powell has named a side laden with international experience for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco next weekend.

South Africa are the top seeded team for the Rugby World Cup Sevens and will travel west as current World Rugby Sevens Series champions.

All 12 players in the squad were involved in the last World Series, played across 10 tournaments around the world, but only the Blitzbok captain, Philip Snyman, has experience of playing at a Rugby World Cup Sevens event.

He did so in Dubai (2009) and Moscow (2013), while the rest of the squad will make their debuts at this level.

Snyman will become the first South African to play in three RWC Sevens tournaments.

Some of the other big names including Rosko Specman, Selvyn Davids, Werner Kok, Justin Geduld and Ruhan Nel.

Kyle Brown, Cecil Afrika, Chris Dry, Seabelo Senatla (who all played in Moscow in 2013), Tim Agaba and Stedman Gans were all ruled out due to injury, while Kwagga Smith and Sikhumbuzo Notshe were not considered because of their involvement in Super Rugby.

South Africa will start their World Cup campaign against the winner of Ireland and Chile at 4.15pm next Saturday.

The Springbok Sevens team: Ryan Oosthuizen, Philip Snyman (c), Dylan Sage, Zain Davids, Werner Kok, Heino Bezuidenhout, Dewald Human, Rosko Specman, Justin Geduld, Selvyn Davids, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Ruhan Nel.

TFL X Plan Pacific Energy

[Source: planet rugby]

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies