28th May 12:06 AM
RKS wins U14, U15 and U16 Deans titles so far
By Semi Turaga and Rusiate Baleilevuka
Saturday 12/08/2017
The Ratu Kadavulevu School Under 16 team after beating Lelean in the final.

Ratu Kadavulevu School has won the Under 14, Under 15 and Under 16 Deans titles.

RKS defeated Lelean 22-18 to win the Under 16 title and the prizemoney of $1,400.

RKS made a strong comeback and defeated QVS 18-17 in the Under 15 grade.

QVS was leading RKS 17-3 at half time.

RKS win $1,400 for claiming the Under 15 Deans title.

RKS wing Ratu Waisea Maka was the best player in the Under 15 final.

He won $150 prize money and a free ticket to fly to either Australia or New Zealand.

In the Under 14 grade, RKS defeated Queen Victoria School 9-7.

Ratu Kadavulevu School win $800 for claiming the Under 14 Deans title.

The Under 14 player of the final was RKS halfback Vilimoni Tuqiri.

Tuqiri won $100 and has been given a ticket to fly to either Australia or New Zealand.

RKS is currently leading Lelean 12-8 in the Under 16 grade.

Ratu Kadavulevu School will face Lelean Memorial School in the Under 17 final at 2.15pm.

Lelean Memorial School will also face Ratu Kadavulevu School in the Under 19 final at 3.50pm.

Meanwhile, the QVS Under 18 side will try and defend the Deans trophy from the in-form RKS side.

The two sides have met three times this year with RKS having won twice and lost once.

History tells us that QVS first won the Deans Trophy in 1939 and they have won more times than any other school with 22 title and are currently the defending champion.

RKS has won the trophy 20 times, drawn 5 times and holds the record for the longest defence of the Deans Trophy from 1980 to 1985.

RKS again won the Trophy in 2015 after a lapse of 10 years since sharing with Suva Grammar School in 2005.

The winner will walk away with $5000.

The Under 18 rugby final between RKS and QVS kicks off at 5.30 this afternoon at the ANZ stadium and you can catch the live commentary on our sister station Viti FM on 92.2FM.

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies