19th July 06:26 AM
RKS dominates Deans finals
By Semi Turaga and Rusiate Baleilevuka
Saturday 12/08/2017
RKS after winning the U17 title.

Ratu Kadavulevu School has dominated the Coke Zero Deans rugby finals winning from the Under 14, Under 15, Under 16, Under 17, and the Under 19 grades at the ANZ Stadium.

Ratu Kadavulevu School defeated Lelean Memorial School 14-13 in the Under 19 final.

RKS can create history and win all grades if they beat QVS in the Under 18 final.

RKS came from behind to beat Lelean after they were trailing 13-0 at halftime.

Two Lelean players were red carded in the second half.

Police also had to intervene to stop a fight which broke out between the players after the match.

In the Under 17 grade, Ratu Kadavulevu School defeated Lelean Memorial School 16-13.

RKS defeated Lelean 22‑18 to win the Under 16 title.

In the Under 15 grade, RKS made a strong comeback and defeated QVS 18-17.

QVS was leading RKS 17-3 at half time.

RKS win $1,400 for claiming the Under 15 Deans title.

RKS wing Ratu Waisea Maka was the best player in the Under 15 final.

He won $150 prize money and a free ticket to fly to either Australia or New Zealand.

RKS also defeated Queen Victoria School 9-7 in the Under 14 final.

Ratu Kadavulevu School win $800 for claiming the Under 14 Deans title.

The Under 14 player of the final was RKS halfback Vilimoni Tuqiri.

Tuqiri won $100 and has been given a ticket to fly to either Australia or New Zealand.

The Under 18 final is underway as QVS and RKS are locked at 0-0 in the first half.

The QVS Under 18 side will try and defend the Deans trophy from the in-form RKS side.

The two sides have met three times this year with RKS having won twice and lost once.

History tells us that QVS first won the Deans Trophy in 1939 and they have won more times than any other school with 22 titles and are currently the defending champion.

RKS has won the trophy 20 times, drawn 5 times and holds the record for the longest defence of the Deans Trophy from 1980 to 1985.

RKS again won the Trophy in 2015 after a lapse of 10 years since sharing with Suva Grammar School in 2005.

The winner will walk away with $5000.

The Under 18 rugby final between RKS and QVS has kicked-off at the ANZ stadium and you can catch the live commentary on our sister station Viti FM on 92.2FM.

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies