28th May 12:08 AM
RKS beats QVS to win Deans U14 title
By Semi Turaga and Rusiate Baleilevuka
Saturday 12/08/2017
Action from the RKS vs QVS U14 final.

The Under 14 Deans final has been won by Ratu Kadavulevu School. 

They defeated Queen Victoria School 9-7 in the final at the ANZ Stadium. 

Ratu Kadavulevu School win $800 for claiming the Under 14 Deans title. 

The Under 14 player of the final is RKS halfback Vilimoni Tuqiri 

Tuqiri won $100 and has been given a ticket to fly to either Australia or New Zealand.

In the Under 15 grade, RKS is leading QVS 17-18 into the second half.

Stay with us for an update.

In the Under 16 final, Lelean Memorial School will take on Ratu Kadavulevu School at 12.45pm.

Ratu Kadavulevu School will face Lelean Memorial School in the Under 17 final at 2.15pm. 

Lelean Memorial School will also face Ratu Kadavulevu School in the Under 19 final at 3.50pm.

Meanwhile, the QVS Under 18 side will try and defend the Deans trophy from the in-form RKS side.

The two sides have met three times this year with RKS having won twice and lost once.

History tells us that QVS first won the Deans Trophy in 1939 and they have won more times that any other school with 22 title and are currently the defending champion.

RKS has won the trophy 20 times, drawn 5 times and holds the record for the longest defence of the Deans Trophy from 1980 to 1985.

RKS again won the Trophy in 2015 after a lapse of 10 years since sharing with Suva Grammar School in 2005.

The winner will walk away with $5000.

The Under 18 rugby final between RKS and QVS kicks off at 5.30pm this afternoon at the ANZ stadium and you can catch the live commentary on our sister station Viti FM.

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies