20th September 10:31 AM
Coles out for up to six months
By Semi Turaga
Monday 13/11/2017
Hooker Dane Coles

Hooker Dane Coles is returning to New Zealand after a serious knee injury during the All Blacks 38‑18 win over France at the weekend.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen said the injury will require surgery and he will likely need four to six months of recovery time.

Setareki Tamanivalu has also been listed to start on the wing.

Meanwhile one test loose forward Luke Whitelock has been named to captain the All Blacks in their tour match against a French fifteen in Lyon on Wednesday.

Whitelock was called in as injury cover for Jerome Kaino earlier this week but will now captain the side in just his second appearance in the All Blacks jersey.

He will become the 133rd person to captain New Zealand.

Six players in total will make their All Blacks debut, though the match does not carry Test status so they will not be awarded a cap for the match.

Crusaders centre Jack Goodhue will start in the midfield while prop Atu Moli, loose forwards Akira Ioane and Dillon Hunt, halfback Mitchell Drummond and first five Richie Mo'unga will start on the bench.

Outgoing halfback Tawera Kerr‑Barlow is the most capped player in the All Blacks line up with 27 tests to his name.

Tim Perry, Nathan Harris and Jeffery Toomaga‑Allen make up the front row while Ardie Savea and Liam Squire join Whitelock in the back row.

Chiefs lock Dominic Bird gets his third crack in the All Blacks' jersey, alongside him is Blues big man Patrick Tuipulotu.

Highlander first five Lima Sopoaga gets his third start in the number 10 jersey while Ngani Laumape will be outside him at second five eighth.

Seta Tamanivalu, Matt Duffie and David Havili make up the back three.

The All Blacks face French fifteen 7am Wednesday.

All Blacks squad to face French XV:

1. Tim Perry

2. Nathan Harris (9)

3. Jeffery Toomaga‑Allen (1)

4. Patrick Tuipulotu (15)

5. Dominic Bird (2)

6. Liam Squire (13)

7. Ardie Savea (22)

8. Luke Whitelock (1) ‑ captain

9. Tawera Kerr‑Barlow (27)

10. Lima Sopoaga (13)

11. Seta Tamanivalu (3)

12. Ngani Laumape (4)

13. Jack Goodhue

14. Matt Duffie

15. David Havili (3)

16. Asafo Aumua

17. Atu Moli

18. Ofa Tu'ungafasi (12)

19. Scott Barrett (15)

20. Akira Ioane

21. Dillon Hunt

22. Mitch Drummond

23. Richie Mo'unga

Source: RadioNZ

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies