23rd May 09:03 PM
Chiefs captain calls on fans to back them in Crusaders clash
By Rusiate Baleilevuka
Thursday 18/05/2017
Gallagher Chiefs in Fiji

Gallagher Chiefs captain Sam Cane is calling on local fans to back them when they host the BNZ Crusaders at the ANZ Stadium tomorrow.

The rivalry continues for the top two New Zealand sides as they prepare to showcase their best in front of Fijian fans in Suva.

Cane who led his side to victory against Crusaders at the ANZ Stadium last year says his players are ready.

The Crusaders are undefeated in this year’s competition so far while the Chiefs lost to the Stormers in the 7th round.

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie says they are aiming to shut out the Crusaders territory game and use different patterns in their attack.

Chiefs center Charlie Ngatai was ruled out of the squad after feeling a headache after training.

Meanwhile, yesterday Crusaders winger Manasa Mataele along with his uncle Seta Tamanivalu and some Crusaders players visited the students of Marist Brothers High School.

Some of the students at the Marist Brothers High School with Manasa Mataele (2nd from right).

Speaking to the Marist students, Mataele says his mother always reminds him to do his best in everything he does in life.

He encouraged the students to always obey their parents as this will bring them good things in future.

Meanwhile Mataele has been named on the bench for the Crusaders team to face the Chiefs.

Coach Scott Robertson has named a strong lineup which includes Seta Tamanivalu.

Crusaders in Fiji

The Chiefs will host the Crusaders at 7.35pm tomorrow at the ANZ Stadium.

Today at 10.30am, the Chiefs players will be visiting the CWM Hospital Children’s Ward and the students of Dudley Intermediate School.


1.            Kane Hames (18)
2.            Nathan Harris (24)
3.            Nepo Laulala (7)
4.            Dominic Bird (21)
5.            Brodie Retallick (80)
6.            Mitchell Brown (10)
7.            Sam Cane (co-captain) (89)
8.            Michael Leitch (30)
9.            Tawera Kerr-Barlow (76)
10.          Aaron Cruden (co-captain) (82)
11.          James Lowe (46)
12.          Anton Lienert-Brown (34)
13.          Sam McNicol (16)
14.          Tim Nanai-Williams
15.          Damian McKenzie (43)  


16.          Hika Elliot (114)
17.          Siegfried Fisi’ihoi (20)
18.          Atu Moli (20)
19.          Taleni Seu (27)
20.          Liam Messam (155)
21.          Jonathan Taumateine (4)
22.          Stephen Donald (98)
23.          Shaun Stevenson (17)


1.             Joe Moody 
2.             Codie Taylor 
3.             Owen Franks
4.             Luke Romano 
5.             Sam Whitelock (C) 
6.             Pete Samu
7.             Matt Todd (VC)
8.             Jordan Taufua
9.             Bryn Hall 
10.           Richie Mo'unga
11.           George Bridge 
12.           Ryan Crotty (VC)
13.           Jack Goodhue
14.           Seta Tamanivalu
15.           David Havili

16.           Ben Funnell
17.           Wyatt Crockett
18.           Michael Alaalatoa
19.           Quinten Strange 
20.           Heiden Bedwell-Curtis
21.           Mitchell Drummond
22.           Mitchell Hunt 
23.           Manasa Mataele 

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies