23rd May 03:25 AM
South Africa crowned World Rugby Sevens Series Champions
By Ilaitia Ravuwai
Monday 15/05/2017
South Africa coach Neil Powell celebrates with players after being crowned the World Rugby Sevens Series Champions (Photo: World Rugby).

South Africa wins Paris 7s after defeating Scotland 15-5 in the Cup Final.

Werner Kok, who was crowned player of the final scored in the first half with Dylan Sage.

South Africa led 10-0 at half time.

George Home was sin bin for a late tackle on a South Africa’s Rosco Speckman.

South Africa has been crowned the World Rugby Sevens Series Champions after they managed to reach the Paris 7s final.

South Africa have played 45 games across the series so far ‑ and they've lost just eight.

South Africa captain Philip Snyman says it's a rather special feeling to lead South Africa to their first series title since 2009.

Snyman says we lost to Scotland in our first game so I am really pleased with coming back to win the Cup and can’t complain about eight finals in nine tournaments.

South Africa had won in Dubai, Wellington, Sydney, Las Vegas and Paris in the 2016-2017 World Rugby Series.

Meanwhile, USA defeated Samoa 24-19 in the fifth place Playoff while New Zealand beat England 12-5 in the third place playoff. 

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies