19th June 02:49 PM
Chiefs get ready to host the Crusaders at the ANZ Stadium today
By Rusiate Baleilevuka
Friday 19/05/2017
The Chiefs during their training session at the ANZ Stadium (Photo: Chiefs Rugby Facebook)

The moment that many rugby crazy fans have been waiting for is here as the Chiefs get ready to host the Crusaders at the ANZ Stadium today.

Under new coach Scott Robertson, the Crusaders have been unbeaten this season and are leading the Super Rugby points table.

As they did during their 20‑12 win over the Hurricanes last week, the Crusaders will attempt to apply their pressure through their scrum, lineout drives and a hard running defensive wall which could limit the influence of playmaker Aaron Cruden.

It will come down to the battle up front in the tight five.

For the Chiefs, their tight five include Brodie Retallick, Dominic Bird, Nepo Laulala, Nathan Harris and Kane Hames who have all played for the All Blacks, and Sam Cane is the test No 7.

Chiefs captain Sam Kane says his forwards are ready.

For the Crusaders, it’s all consistency in the forwards.

Their tight five include Joe Moody, Codie Taylor, Owen Franks, Luke Romano and captain Sam Whitelock.

Whitelock hopes they can nullify the Chiefs strength.

Meanwhile Whitelock recalls the reaction of the crowd last year.

Whitelock is excited to play tonight having missed the last two rounds with a two weeks suspension.

Crusaders in Fiji

The Chiefs will host the Crusaders at 7.35 tonight at the ANZ Stadium.

The gates will be open at 4pm.


1.            Kane Hames (18)
2.            Nathan Harris (24)
3.            Nepo Laulala (7)
4.            Dominic Bird (21)
5.            Brodie Retallick (80)
6.            Mitchell Brown (10)
7.            Sam Cane (co-captain) (89)
8.            Michael Leitch (30)
9.            Tawera Kerr-Barlow (76)
10.          Aaron Cruden (co-captain) (82)
11.          James Lowe (46)
12.          Anton Lienert-Brown (34)
13.          Sam McNicol (16)
14.          Tim Nanai-Williams
15.          Damian McKenzie (43)  


16.          Hika Elliot (114)
17.          Siegfried Fisi’ihoi (20)
18.          Atu Moli (20)
19.          Taleni Seu (27)
20.          Liam Messam (155)
21.          Jonathan Taumateine (4)
22.          Stephen Donald (98)
23.          Shaun Stevenson (17)


1.             Joe Moody 
2.             Codie Taylor 
3.             Owen Franks
4.             Luke Romano 
5.             Sam Whitelock (C) 
6.             Pete Samu
7.             Matt Todd (VC)
8.             Jordan Taufua
9.             Bryn Hall 
10.           Richie Mo'unga
11.           George Bridge 
12.           Ryan Crotty (VC)
13.           Jack Goodhue
14.           Seta Tamanivalu
15.           David Havili

16.           Ben Funnell
17.           Wyatt Crockett
18.           Michael Alaalatoa
19.           Quinten Strange 
20.           Heiden Bedwell-Curtis
21.           Mitchell Drummond
22.           Mitchell Hunt 
23.           Manasa Mataele 

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies