20th January 12:31 AM
ACS continues to lead the girl's division and RKS retakes lead in boy's division
By Vijay Narayan, Semi Turaga, Iva Danford and Lena Reece and Naveel Krishant
Friday 20/04/2018

Adi Cakobau School is leading the girl's division while Ratu Kadavulevu School leads the boy's division of the Fijivillage Coca-Cola Games medal tally this hour.     

ACS is leading the girl's division with 4 gold, 4 silver and 1  bronze, Jasper Williams High School is in second place with 3 gold, 3 silver and 1 bronze while Suva Grammar School is in third place with 2 gold and 1 silver.

RKS is leading with 3 gold, 2 silver and 4 bronze, Niusawa Methodist is second with 3 gold, Marist is third with 2 gold, 2 silver and 3 bronze while QVS is next with 2 gold and 2 silver medals.

Defending champion, Natabua is in fifth place with 1 gold, 1 silver and 3 bronze medals.

Niusawa Methodist School all the way from Taveuni won their second gold medal in this year’s Coke Games earlier today.

Darcy Cammick of Niusawa took gold in the Intermediate Boys Javelin in the last hour.

Lusibaea Chris of QVS took the silver while Joela Tamani of John Wesley College takes home the bronze.

Ilisoni Naiteqe of Dilkusha High has won gold in the Intermediate Boys High Jump. Naiteqe says they had to use Grammar’s facilities to prepare for the games.

The silver medal has gone to Caleb Wivou of Natabua and bronze went to Kolaia Ivi of RKS. 

Katarina Maivilase of Napuka Secondary School from Savusavu has become the first athlete to break a record at the Coca-Cola Games this year.

She set a new record of 37.10 metres in the Intermediate Girls Discus to win gold. She broke Koro High School’s Ana Bale-ira’s record which stood at 35.12 metres since 2015.

Maivilase says she would wake up early every morning to train and has dedicated the win to all the students of Napuka Secondary School. 

Makareta Mara has won Suva Grammar School’s second gold in the Junior Girls Discus, Marica Bai of Jasper Williams High School got silver while Seini Caucauqoli of Niusawa Methodist High School got bronze.

Josateki Tabuaduadua has won Ratu Kadavulevu School’s third gold in the Senior Boys Long Jump, Penijamini Nasorowale of Sigatoka Methodist High School took silver while Jethro Lockington of Natabua High School got bronze.

Asinate Kasowaqa of ACS won her second gold medal in the Senior Girls Triple Jump this morning, Alesi Bulisala of ACS got silver while Ema Navukala of Jasper Williams High School settled for bronze.

Kasowaqa says ACS was her dream school and that is why she continues to work hard to win gold.

The first gold medal in the boy's division on day 2 went to Natabua High School in the Junior Boys Shot Put.

Orisi Navauvau won gold, Jesse Stolz of Marist settled for silver while Nathaniel Tuilaucala of RKS got bronze.

Navauvau says he feels satisfied having accomplished his aim which was to win Natabua’s first gold.

Petero Tuma of Marist is taking home the gold in the Sub Junior Boys Shot Put after a throw of 12.91 metres. Seremaia Matai of Cuvu College won the silver medal while Nalani May of Marist takes home the bronze medal.

Nemani Medreilagi of Natabua High School will be the favourite for the Boys Intermediate 200 metres final as he clocked the fastest time of 22.31 seconds in the heats. 

He will get competition from Mesake Colasau of QVS and Kolinio Radrudru of Suva Grammar who clocked 22.66 seconds and 22.71 seconds respectively. 

Meanwhile, Joseva Tabakaucoro of Marist finished last in his heat after he pulled out mid-way in his heat due to an injury. His elder brother, Banuve made the call for Joseva not to run as he can barely walk after the injury.             

Tabakaucoro will not run in the 100 metres final later this afternoon.

Heleina Young of Saint Joseph’s Secondary School has clocked the fastest time in the Intermediate girls 200 metres heats with a time of 24.98 seconds while Serenia Raqatu of ACS has also qualified for the 200m final.

The 100 metres finals will start at 5.40pm today.

The 400 metres finals will begin at 5 pm today.

The 800 metres heats start at 3 pm.  

TFL X Plan

Pacific Specialist Healthcare
Listen to the latest news on our 5 radio stations Legend FM, Viti FM, Radio Sargam, FM96 and Navtarang.
CFL Radio Frequencies